Canada 150 Grant

County Council is awarding grants of up to $10,000 to communities within the County of Grande Prairie boundaries who plan to commemorate Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation through an event, program or legacy activity. In total, the County will be distributing up to $100,000 in funds.

Grants will be awarded to communities who create opportunities for County residents to participate in activities that contribute to building a sense of pride and attachment to the County, and to Canada as a nation. Projects must take place within the County in the 2017 calendar year, and priority will be given to groups who can demonstrate that their project will have an impact on a high number of County residents.

The Canada 150 Grant application opens on February 15, 2017 and closes on March 31, 2017. Successful applicants will be notified in May 2017 and funds will be distributed in June 2017.  

Application forms [PDF - 684 KB] can be submitted by email to, or in person at the Community Services Building located at 10808 - 100 Avenue in Clairmont during regular business hours of Monday to Friday (excluding statutory holidays) between 8:30 a.m. and noon and 1 p.m. and 4:30 p.m.

To be eligible for funding, the project must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Be a celebratory Canada 150 event, fair, festival or activity
  • Add specific Canada 150 programming to an existing event
  • Be a theatrical or musical performance, or a large artwork with a Canada 150 theme
  • Be a plaque, monument, or permanent installation recognizing Canada 150
  • Include a ceremony for a site dedication in honour of Canada 150
  • Be a Canada 150 interpretive program or tour
  • Connect the audience with nature and encourage environmental stewardship in acknowledgement of Canada 150
  • Promote diversity and inclusion with the Canada 150 project, and build common interests and relationships within the community
  • Engage and inspire youth to carry forward the legacy of Canada 150

The communities of Bezanson, Buffalo Lakes, Clairmont, Demmitt, Dimsdale, Elmworth, Goodfare, Halcourt, Huallen, La Glace, Lymburn, Teepee Creek, Valhalla Centre, Wedgewood, City of Grande Prairie, Beaverlodge, Hythe, Sexsmith and Wembley are eligible to apply for the Canada 150 Grant for projects that take place within the County boundaries in the 2017 calendar year. Only one grant will be awarded per community within the County; therefore, community groups are encouraged to work together on one collective celebratory project. Priority will be given to applicants who can demonstrate that their project will have an impact on a high number of County residents. Not all applicants meeting the requirements will necessarily receive a grant, as it is anticipated that the number of applicants will exceed the total funding allotment.

For more information, feel free to contact the Parks & Recreation department at 780-532-9727.