Patrol Unit

Patrol UnitThe Patrol Unit supplements and assists the work of the RCMP as it:

  • Enforces provincial law related to traffic and safety. Officers work to fulfill the Road Safety Strategy 2015 program, which aims to reduce the number of deaths and injuries on Alberta's highways.
  • Protects our roadway surfaces and infrastructure by enforcing commercial vehicle weight restrictions and select municipal bylaws.
  • Delivers safety and education programs in conjunction with the RCMP, Fire Services, and community groups.

The County of Grande Prairie patrol area spans from the British Columbia border on the west to the Smoky River on the east, and from the Saddle Hills on the north to the Wapiti River on the south. Farming, forestry, logging, ranching, oil and gas exploration and all types of commercial ventures contribute to our thriving economy.

Patrol UnitWithin the County borders lies the Towns of Beaverlodge, Wembley, Sexsmith, the Village of Hythe and nine County Hamlets. The County has 287.4 km of Secondary Highways, 3,403.3 km of graveled, paved or oiled rural roads, nine recreational parks, four trailer parks, subdivisions and five natural reserve sites.

The Towns of Wembley and Sexsmith, Village of Hythe, MD of Greenview and Saddle Hills County have contracted the services of the Regional Enforcement Services Department. School zones in these towns along with other rural school zones are also routinely patrolled by the Peace Officers.

Traffic Safety

For information on traffic safety, visit


To report an emergency, dial 9-1-1.


To report a complaint to the Patrol Unit contact Regional Enforcement Services at 780-532-9727, by email at, or complete the online occurrence reporting form.

Important Enforcement Services Links

Commercial Vehicle Permitting
Commercial trucks travelling under the auspices of an Alberta Government overload permit or over dimensional Government Permit (obtained from Red Deer, AB) must have the permit authorized by the County before travelling on County roads.