The 2021 Passionate Heart Awards have gone virtual!

This annual event honours the Spirit of Service for front-line-workers and supporters in the field of Social Services.

The 2021 Passionate Heart Ceremony will be held on February 12, 2021 Via Zoom

Register online and share the link with your friends, family and peers to join us as we recognize all nominees and announce the 2021 award recipients. 

Nominate someone

You can nominate deserving individuals, groups or businesses for one of the nine Passionate Heart Awards presented in four different categories.

The deadline for nominations is January 22, 2021


Award Categories

 Passionate Heart Exceptional Service Award

Awarded to an individual who demonstrates exceptional front line service for two or more years in the following professions:

  • Policing Services
  • Child and Family Services
  • Youth Services
  • Social prevention
  • Education
  • Social Services 
Passionate Heart Exceptional Team Award
Awarded to a team demonstrating exceptional front line service in the following categories:
  • Non-profit social agencies
  • Teams providing social services
 Passionate Heart Business Award

Awarded to a business that provides outstanding support developing the community. This can include ongoing financial support, in-kind or service to the community

 The Chris Henderson Lifetime Service Award
Awarded to an individual with 10 years or more of significant social purpose service in their community.

Recipients of the 2020 Passionate Heart Awards

Individual Awards

  • Sarah Herman, Grade 6 teacher, Peace Wapiti School Division
  • James Walker, Clinical Supervisor and Psychologist, PACE
  • Samantha Cabral, Program Manager, Beaverlodge Victim Services Unit
  • Constable Joy Ajele, Investigator, RCMP
  • Lisa Wiseman, Family & Parent Education, Peace Wapiti School Division

Team Awards

  • Camp Heal-A-Heart, Grande Prairie Grief Support Association
  • Jamie Tissington (Executive Director), Teanna Moen (Camp Coordinator), Kendal Cuthbert (Camp Counsellor) and Bryan Dusseault (Camp Counsellor)
  • Safe Visitation Team, PACE
  • Kim Page (Safe Visitation Facilitator), Adeline Mohyluk (Safe Visitation Facilitator) and Marlene Iversen (Safe Visitation Program Coordinator)

Business Award

  • NTL Pipelines Inc.

Chris Henderson Lifetime Service Award

  • Penny Mickanuck, Executive Director, John Howard Society of Grande Prairie